2020-2021 Catalog

State Licensure and Approvals

District of Columbia

Strayer University’s main campus is located in the District of Columbia. Strayer University is licensed by the Higher Education Licensure Commission of the District of Columbia (DCHELC). DCHELC has granted approval for Strayer University to offer all of the courses and all degree, diploma and certificate programs currently listed in the Strayer University Catalog. DCHELC does not object to Strayer University offering these courses and degree, diploma and certificate programs outside of the District of Columbia and, in particular, in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Credits for courses taken at any Strayer University campus, including its Virginia campuses, may be transferred to any other Strayer University location, including those in the District of Columbia, or to the online campus, as part of an existing degree, diploma or certificate program. The District of Columbia also serves as our home state for participation in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA), as outlined in the subsequent section. 

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

Strayer University is an institutional participant in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA), a voluntary and regional method to oversee distance education. Strayer University is also approved to participate in SARA by its home state, the District of Columbia. As a result of Strayer's participation in SARA and approval by its home state, Strayer may offer distance education programs in SARA member states without further approval from the individual state. SARA only applies to distance education and does not cover instruction provided on-ground at any Strayer campus.


Strayer University is licensed to do business in Alabama by the Private Licensing Division of the Alabama Community College System Department of Postsecondary Education, and is exempt from programmatic review by the Alabama Commission on Higher Education.


Those programs offered by Strayer University in Arkansas have been certified by the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board certification does not constitute an endorsement of any institution or program. Such certification merely indicates that certain criteria have been met as required under the rules and regulations implementing institutional and program certification as defined in Arkansas Code §6-61-301.


Strayer University is authorized by the Delaware Department of Education to operate in the state of Delaware.


Strayer University is licensed in Florida by the Commission for Independent Education, Florida Department of Education. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Commission at: 


325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1414

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400

Toll-free telephone: 1.888.224.6684


Strayer University is authorized to operate in the state of Georgia by the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission.


Strayer University is currently licensed by the Board of Regents of the State of Louisiana. Licenses are renewed by the State Board of Regents every two years. Licensed institutions have met minimal operational standards set forth by the state, but licensure does not constitute accreditation, guarantee the transferability of credit, nor signify that programs are certifiable by any professional agency or organization.


Strayer University is authorized by the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) to offer programs at its Maryland locations and is registered with MHEC to enroll Maryland students in its fully online distance education programs.


Strayer University is authorized to offer approved courses and programs at its Jackson Campus by the Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation.

New Jersey

Strayer University is licensed by the New Jersey Secretary of Higher Education to offer programs in New Jersey.

North Carolina

Strayer University is approved by the North Carolina Board of Governors to offer programs in North Carolina.


Strayer University is authorized as a degree granting institution in Oklahoma by the Oklahoma State Regents.


Strayer University is approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education to offer programs in Pennsylvania.

South Carolina

Strayer University is licensed by:

South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201

Licensure by this commission indicates only that minimum standards have been met, and it is not an endorsement or guarantee of quality. Licensure is not equivalent to or synonymous with accreditation by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.


Strayer University is authorized by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. This authorization must be renewed each year and is based on an evaluation of minimum standards concerning quality of education, ethical business practices, health and safety and fiscal responsibility.


Strayer University is legally authorized to operate and grant degrees in Texas as an exempt institution under the rules of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.


Strayer University has been issued a Certificate of Postsecondary State Authorization by the Utah Division of Consumer Protection.


Strayer University is certified to operate campuses in Virginia by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia. Each course and all degree, diploma and certificate programs that Strayer University offers in Virginia have been approved by the Strayer University Board of Trustees.

West Virginia

Strayer University is authorized by the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission to offer programs in West Virginia.