2021-2022 Catalog


As the business world began to expand toward the end of the nineteenth century, Dr. S. Irving Strayer opened the doors of Strayer Business College in Baltimore, MD, in 1892. He was joined in this endeavor by Thomas W. Donoho.

The institution quickly became popular and, in 1904, Dr. Strayer and Mr. Donoho opened a second location in Washington, D.C. With the passage of federal income tax laws in 1913 and the resulting growth in the accounting field, the Washington branch of Strayer Business College assumed a leading role in graduating qualified professionals.

After World War I, the Strayer College of Accountancy was established as a separate institution in 1928, and the emphasis of study shifted to preparation for the Certified Public Accountant examination. By 1959, Strayer began to incorporate the new accounting curriculum with various courses offered by the business college. Consequently, Strayer was licensed to grant the Bachelor of Science degree 10 years later and was renamed Strayer College.

Strayer continued offering more program options and, by 1987, the school received permission to confer master’s degrees. In 1996, the university launched a groundbreaking online learning program that remains popular among working adults. The school’s name officially changed to Strayer University in 1998.

In 2011, the Jack Welch Management Institute became a part of Strayer University to offer executive education programs based on the leadership principles of Jack Welch, the former chairman and chief executive officer of General Electric.

In 2019, Devmountain became part of Strayer University to offer high quality, accessible and affordable non-credit/non-degree coding programs. Devmountain’s non-credit/non-degree coding programs are offered online and at the Lehi, UT campus. Through Devmountain non-credit/non-degree programs, Strayer University brings hands-on education focused on the technical skills needed for today's fast-paced high-tech industries. For more information about Devmountain’s non-credit/non-degree programs and policies, please see the Devmountain course catalog.

In 2021, Hackbright Academy became part of Strayer University. Through Hackbright's non-credit/non-degree programs, Strayer University seeks to help diversify the engineering and technology industry with a focus on empowering women and people who are gender diverse with the knowledge and skills to excel in these industries. The program’s inclusion goals encourage students to become technology creators through education, mentorship and community. For more information about Hackbright's non-credit/non-degree programs and policies, please see the Hackbright course catalog.

With students enrolling at conveniently located campuses in more than 15 states and Washington, D.C., or via the internet, Strayer University is now one of the most well-known adult-focused universities in America.